Mysteryshows.com Forum Index Mysteryshows.com
Discuss old time radio here

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Burning CD's

View previous topic :: View next topic  
purrcy

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 3:37 pm    Post subject: Burning CD's Reply with quote

I've been burning CDR's that I bought from CostCo and I have discovered that my CD's have a lot of errors. I asked the local computer geeks what I could do about it and they told me to use Imation CDR's. I don't get may errors now, but I'd like to get no errors while burning. Does anybody have any experience here that they could share with me?
ny2nc

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 6:57 am    Post subject: errors Reply with quote

Hi, i've been burning cd's for almost 10 years now and have found a couple of tricks that work pretty well. Almost any blank will work but it's important not to have any other programs running in the background like your anti-virus or e-mail as they seem to cause interference. so when i'm going to burn cd's i' make certain i'm not connected to the internet and i disable my anti-virus (or put it on snooze, depending on which you use). another thing is to burn at a slower speed than the max which depending on the type of disc is 52x or 48x and i usually burn at 16x or 8x. that was a tip i got from the vendor of one of my burning programs. one other tip which isn't for the skipping part but for a more enjoyable listening is to use nero and activate the 'normalize' function. this will make the sound quality standard on a disc even when having more than one program on it, well within 5% or so anyhow. i'm not sure if other burning software has this feature, nero has been the only one i've seen with it.

Hope this is of some help, it comes from lots or trial and error, and the error part i've been particularly good at.
purrcy